We are the champions!

Published:  16 March, 2010

Here they are – the brightest and best of the merchant industry 2009. Champions in what was probably one of the most difficult years in living memory – men and women who have achieved the best for their companies with tireless work and constant innovation.

Over 380 people attended the event at the Royal Lancaster Hotel in London on 20 November 2009. This year’s host was BBC broadcaster John Inverdale.


The winners and sponsors

Builders’ Merchant Training Initiative of the Year: Steve Sellick,group training manager,Ridgeons,with category sponsor, Cole Greenwood, specification manager, Worcester,Bosch Group.

Trainee of the Year: Joanna Burns, sales negotiator EH Smith (Builders’ Merchants) with Steve Durdant-Hollamby,commercial director of category sponsor ACO Technologies.

Best Builders’ Merchants Showroom:Paul Bence,operations director, George Bence & Sons,and category sponsor, Sharon Hamer, field sales manager of Hotpoint. Mr Bence also received the Best Customer Service by a Builders’ Merchant award,presented by Tina Simpson, marketing director of Triton.

Best Builders’ Merchant Hard Landscaping Display: sponsor Mike Leeming, head of sales – garden landscaping, of category sponsor Bradstone, who accepted on behalf of Thistle Timber and Building Supplies.

Achiever of the Year: Anne Ganley, managing director,Thompson Building Centres, accepts the award from Andy Williamson, director of IKO (left) and is flanked by host, John Inverdale.Best Builders’ Merchant Website: James Norden,IT manager TBS Building Supplies with category sponsor James Murray, exhibition director of Totally DIY,Totally Secure & Totally Tools Shows.

Best Builders’ Merchant Marketing Initiative: Mark Northway, financial director, Beatsons Building Supplies and category sponsor, Tom Tong, sales and marketing director of Finnforest UK.

Builders’ Merchant Environmental Initiative Award: Andy Gribble, PTS business development director, PTS Plumbing Trade Supplies, with Charlie Lamb, UK low carbon manager of category sponsor, the Baxi Group.

Achiever of the Year: Anne Ganley,managing director, Thompson Building Centres, and Andy Williamson, director of IKO and sponsor of this category.

Builders’ Merchant Manager of the Year: Phil Burns, branch manager of Coomers, and Craig Allan,

chief executive officer of category sponsor, TradePro Card Services.

Independent Builders’ Merchant of the Year (1-5 branches): David Berry, managing director C&W Berry, with category sponsor Steve Dunkley, sales and marketing director of Hunter Plastics.

Independent Builders’ Merchant of the Year (6 branches or more): Joe Inzani, managing director of Lawsons, and Jean-Michel Desmoutier, managing director of sponsor, Lafarge Plasterboard.

National Builders’ Merchant of the Year: Kevin Middleton, managing director, Grafton Merchanting (GB),and Jon Morrish, managing director of sponsor, Hanson.

Supplier of the Year:Paul Collis,national sales manager,WPL and Charles Ledigo, chairman of category sponsor, Reisser.

Builders’ Merchant Lifetime Achievement Award: William Godfrey, managing director, Robert Price Builders’ Merchants, is presented with this prestigious award by Mark Oliver, managing director of H+H UK.

The 2010 Awards will be online and open for nominations week commencing 4 May 2010.


This article first appeared in the December/January issue of Builders' Merchants News.

Sign Up

For the Builders' Merchants News enewsletter.

In the spotlight

We have vacancies all over the UK for those who work within the Building Supplies sector.

Events Diary